18+ only. Gambling can be addictive. Free, confidential help: National Gambling Helpline 0808 8020 133 · BeGambleAware.org

Online CasinoHub

Pay by Mobile Casinos UK

How we earn: some casino links on this page may pay us a commission if you sign up. It costs you nothing and never moves a casino up our list. We list only UK Gambling Commission licensed casinos. 18+. Full disclosure.

Quick answer A pay by mobile casino lets you add a deposit to your phone bill or take it from pay-as-you-go credit instead of using a card. Ofcom treats these charges as premium rate services, allows gambling through them for over-18s only, and requires the cost to be clear. Check each casino’s cashier before you rely on it.

On this page
  1. What is a pay by mobile casino?
  2. How does paying by phone bill at a casino work?
  3. Is pay by mobile allowed at UK casinos?
  4. What are the pros and cons of paying by phone bill?
  5. Can you withdraw winnings to your phone bill?
  6. What limits and fees apply to pay by mobile deposits?
  7. Do pay by mobile deposits count for casino bonuses?
  8. Which UKGC-licensed casinos can you compare?
  9. How do you check a pay by mobile charge on your bill?
  10. What if you are charged without agreeing?
  11. How can you control or block phone bill gambling?
  12. How does pay by mobile compare with other deposit methods?
  13. What should you check before your first pay by mobile deposit?
  14. Play safe
Pay by mobile casino deposits charged to a UK phone bill
Pay by mobile puts a casino deposit on your phone bill or pay-as-you-go credit.

Key takeaways

  • Pay by mobile (also called pay by phone bill or direct carrier billing) charges a deposit to your mobile bill or pay-as-you-go credit.
  • Ofcom classes anything charged to a phone bill as a premium rate service and says gambling through it is for over-18s only.
  • Your bill may show the charge as Charge-to-mobile, Operator Billing or Direct Carrier Billing rather than the casino’s name.
  • Phone billing is a way to pay in. Check the casino’s cashier for how it pays you out.
  • Your mobile network may be able to block premium rate charges on your account if you want a hard stop.

What is a pay by mobile casino?

A pay by mobile casino is a UKGC-licensed casino that lets you fund your account by charging the deposit to your mobile phone bill, or by taking it from your pay-as-you-go credit. You confirm the payment on your phone, and the amount appears on your next bill or comes off your balance straight away.

You will see the same idea described in several ways: pay by phone bill, pay by mobile, phone bill casino, carrier billing and direct carrier billing. They all mean that your mobile network collects the money on behalf of the business you paid. Some casinos use a specialist payment company in the middle. Boku, for example, describes itself on its own website as a global network of local payment methods, and it is one of the names people search for alongside “boku casino”.

What matters to you is not the brand in the middle but three questions: does the casino you are looking at actually offer this option in its cashier, what are the limits, and how will you get any winnings back out. We cover each below.

How does Ofcom describe phone bill payments?

Ofcom, which now regulates phone-paid services, says premium rate services are “the name given to all content, goods, or services charged to a phone bill.” It explains that when you make in-app purchases or pay for services on your phone, “you can add the costs to your phone bill or pay-as-you-go credit.” Ofcom also says phone payment is used by 20 million people in the UK.

On gambling specifically, Ofcom’s quick guide says you can use premium rate services to gamble online and via a mobile phone, that “these can only be used by people over 18”, that the cost and type of service must be made clear, and that “there are also extra rules for gambling services that are set by the Gambling Commission.”

How does paying by phone bill at a casino work?

You pick the mobile option in the casino cashier, enter your mobile number, enter the amount, and confirm with a code sent by text. The deposit lands in your casino balance, and your network either adds it to your monthly bill or deducts it from pay-as-you-go credit. The exact screens vary by casino and payment provider.

A typical deposit looks like this:

  1. Log in to your casino account. You must already be registered and verified, because the Gambling Commission says all online gambling businesses must ask you to prove your age and identity before you gamble.
  2. Open the cashier and choose the pay by mobile or pay by phone bill option, if the casino lists one.
  3. Enter your mobile number and the amount you want to deposit.
  4. You receive a text message asking you to confirm. Reply or enter the code as instructed.
  5. The funds appear in your casino balance, and you receive a receipt, often by text.

Ofcom notes that companies charging your phone bill “are required to inform you of charges” and that receipts can take the form of SMS messages. Keep those texts. They are your record of what was charged and who charged it.

Steps to deposit at a casino using pay by phone bill
The usual deposit flow: cashier, number, text confirmation, receipt.

Is pay by mobile allowed at UK casinos?

Yes, if the casino is licensed by the UK Gambling Commission and chooses to offer it. Ofcom’s guidance confirms gambling can be paid for through premium rate services, for over-18s only, with the cost made clear and Gambling Commission rules applying on top. Paying by phone bill is not the same as paying by credit card.

Credit cards have been banned for gambling in Great Britain since 14 April 2020. A phone bill deposit is collected by your mobile network, not by a credit card issuer, so it is a separate route. That does not make it a way to gamble with money you do not have. If a monthly contract means you are spending now and paying later, treat it with the same care you would give any bill.

Two points to check first:

  • The licence. Look the casino up on the UKGC public register. Our guide on how we rate casinos explains exactly what we check.
  • The cashier. Payment options change. The only reliable answer to “does this casino take pay by mobile?” is its own cashier or payments page, read on the day you deposit.

What are the pros and cons of paying by phone bill?

The main advantage is convenience: no card number to type, and a deposit confirmed on the phone already in your hand. The main drawbacks are lower limits, the fact that it is a deposit route rather than a withdrawal route, and charges that can build up quietly on a monthly bill.

Point Why it helps Why it can hurt
No card details You do not enter a card number on the casino site. You still need a verified casino account with your personal details.
Text confirmation Each deposit needs a code or reply on your phone. Confirming by text is quick, which makes impulse deposits easy.
Bill or pay-as-you-go Pay-as-you-go caps you at the credit you have loaded. On a contract, the money leaves your account later, when the bill is paid.
Bill description Charges are itemised on your bill. Ofcom says the bill may show a payment mechanism or a number, not the casino’s name.
Withdrawals Not applicable. You need another method, such as a bank account, to receive winnings.

Can you withdraw winnings to your phone bill?

You should not expect to. Ofcom describes phone payments purely as charges added to a bill or taken from credit, and says nothing about money being paid back the other way. In practice you will need a second method, usually a bank account or debit card, to withdraw. Check the casino’s withdrawal page before you deposit.

This matters for two reasons. First, when you come to withdraw, the casino may ask you to add and verify a bank account, which takes time if you have not done it in advance. Second, the Gambling Commission says you can withdraw your money “at any time without unreasonable delay or restriction” and “you don’t have to withdraw it in instalments.” If a casino holds your money without good reason, complain to the casino first and follow its complaints process.

If fast payouts are what you care about most, read our guide to fast withdrawal casinos, which explains how withdrawal times are set and what slows them down.

What limits and fees apply to pay by mobile deposits?

Limits are set by the casino, the payment provider and your mobile network, and we have not seen a phone bill minimum on any casino’s own page. For mobile wallets, bet365’s help pages list deposits by debit card, Apple Pay, Pay by Bank and e-wallets from £5, and LeoVegas lists a £5 minimum by Apple Pay (both checked 29 September 2026). Phone bill deposits are commonly smaller than card or bank deposits. Read the casino’s cashier for its minimum and maximum, and ask your network about any spending cap on your account.

We do not publish a number here because we could not confirm one from a primary source, and figures quoted on comparison sites are often out of date. Instead, look for these details in the casino’s payments page or terms:

  • Minimum and maximum deposit per transaction for the mobile method.
  • Any daily or monthly cap on mobile deposits.
  • Whether the casino adds a fee. Many state “no fees”, but read it rather than assume it.
  • Whether a mobile deposit qualifies for a welcome offer. Offers often name the methods that count.

If you want to keep deposits small whatever the method, our guide to low deposit casinos covers minimum deposits and how to set limits.

Do pay by mobile deposits count for casino bonuses?

Only if the offer’s terms say so. Many welcome offers list the payment methods that qualify, and some exclude certain methods. Unibet’s offer qualifies with debit card or instant bank transfer only, so a phone bill deposit would not count there. Grosvenor’s offer excludes PayPal and Paysafe first deposits. Both were read on the casinos’ own pages on 29 September 2026.

Unibet’s offer, checked on 29 September 2026 from its promotions page: 300 free spins at £0.10 each on Big Bass Splash when you deposit and stake £30 on slots, 10x wagering, claim within 7 days, spins expire in 48 hours, new GB customers only, opt in required, debit card or instant bank transfer only.

Whatever the casino, two UKGC rules apply to every offer. Since 19 January 2026, bonus wagering requirements are capped at 10 times. From the same date, operators cannot run mixed-product promotions that require you to play different products, such as betting and slots, to unlock a bonus. See our casino bonuses hub for more.

Which UKGC-licensed casinos can you compare?

Our table lists casinos with an active UKGC remote casino licence that we checked on the public register, with the licence number and check date. None of the payment pages we read on 29 September 2026 named phone bill payments, so we do not claim any casino offers them. Check each cashier yourself. Offer figures appear only where we have read the casino’s own terms.

#CasinoUKGC licenceWelcome offer and significant termsWageringWithdrawal speedPayment methodsScoreVisit
1 Unibet Casino logoUnibet CasinoPlatinum Gaming Limited Acct 45322
045322-R-324275-019
Active, checked 29 Sep 2026
300 free spins (£0.10 each) on Big Bass Splash
Min deposit: Deposit and stake £30 on slots. Expiry: Claim within 7 days; spins expire in 48 hours. Max win: Not stated in the offer text. Games: Stake on slots; spins on Big Bass Splash. New GB customers only. Opt in. Debit card or instant bank transfer only. Game contributions vary, max stake applies. Read from its terms on 29 Sep 2026.
10x Not stated on the offer page Debit card or instant bank transfer (offer); Visa, Mastercard, Apple Pay, Google Pay, Trustly (logos) Scoring after terms check Visit Unibet

18+. T&Cs apply.

2 Grosvenor Casinos logoGrosvenor CasinosRank Interactive (Gibraltar) Limited Acct 57924
057924-R-334666-005
Active, checked 29 Sep 2026
£40 bonus + 100 free spins on Big Bass Splash
Min deposit: £20 first deposit (not PayPal or Paysafe). Expiry: Runs until further notice; see full T&Cs. Max win: Max win applies (see T&Cs). Games: Bonus on selected slots; slots 100%, live casino 10%, jackpots 50% contribution. New players 18+. Select the offer in the cashier before depositing. Read from its terms on 29 Sep 2026.
10x deposit + bonus (£600 on £20 + £40) Not stated on the offer page Not stated on the offer page Scoring after terms check Visit Grosvenor

18+. T&Cs apply.

3 888casino logo888casino888 UK Limited Acct 39028
039028-R-319297-014
Active, checked 29 Sep 2026
200 free spins (code HELLO200FS) or 100% bonus up to £100
Min deposit: £20 (spins) or £10 (match bonus). Expiry: Spins: stake £20 within 7 days, spins valid 7 days. Match: claim within 48h, wager within 90 days. Max win: £100 from free spins or bonus. Games: Selected games and slots. UK/IE new customers, GBP accounts, one welcome offer per customer. £0.10 per spin. Ends 31/12/2026. Read from its terms on 29 Sep 2026.
10x bonus Not stated on the offer page Not stated on the offer page Scoring after terms check Visit 888

18+. T&Cs apply.

4 LeoVegas logoLeoVegasLeoVegas Gaming PLC Acct 39198
039198-R-319450-029
Active, checked 29 Sep 2026
50 wager-free spins on Big Bass Splash
Min deposit: £10 deposit, then wager £10 once (1x) on eligible casino games within 7 days. Expiry: Deposit and wager within 7 days of registering; spins expire in 3 days. Max win: Not stated in the offer text. Games: Big Bass Splash. New customers only. Opt in. Wagering contributions vary. T&Cs and exclusions apply. Read from its terms on 29 Sep 2026.
None on spin winnings Up to 5 business days depending on method (LeoVegas payment page) Visa/Mastercard debit, PayPal, Apple Pay, Open Banking Scoring after terms check Visit LeoVegas

18+. T&Cs apply.

5 PlayOJO logoPlayOJOSkill On Net Limited Acct 39326
039326-R-319358-061
Active, checked 29 Sep 2026
50 free spins on Big Bass Bonanza, no wagering
Min deposit: £10 first deposit. Expiry: Not stated on the offer page. Max win: No cap on free spin winnings (stated). Games: Big Bass Bonanza, £0.10 per spin. First deposit only. Not available in Northern Ireland. Read from its terms on 29 Sep 2026.
None "95% of withdrawal requests processed within minutes" (PlayOJO); £0 minimum Visa, Mastercard, PayPal, Apple Pay, Google Pay, Trustly, Paysafecard, instant bank transfer Scoring after terms check Visit PlayOJO

18+. T&Cs apply.

6 Sky Casino logoSky CasinoBonne Terre Gaming Limited Acct 65519
065519-R-339675-002
Active, checked 29 Sep 2026
100 free spins when you deposit and stake £10
Min deposit: £10 deposit and stake. Expiry: Free spins expire after 30 days. Max win: Not stated in the offer text. Games: Eligible games only (not named in the offer text). New customers only. Opt in. Games and eligibility restrictions apply. Read from its terms on 29 Sep 2026.
Not stated in the offer text Not stated Visa, Mastercard, Apple Pay, Google Pay (payment logos) Scoring after terms check Visit Sky Casino

18+. T&Cs apply.

7 bet365 Casino logobet365 CasinoHillside (UK Gaming) ENC Acct 55149
055149-R-331499-004
Active, checked 29 Sep 2026
Offer not yet verified
We show bonus figures only after reading them on the casino's own terms page. Check the current offer and its significant terms on the casino's site before you sign up.
Not yet verifiedbet365 aims to process in 4 hours, up to 24 hoursDebit card, Apple Pay, Pay by Bank, e-wallets (from £5) Scoring after terms check Visit bet365

18+. T&Cs apply.

8 Betway Casino logoBetway CasinoBetway Limited Acct 39372
039372-R-319367-029
Active, checked 29 Sep 2026
Offer not yet verified
We show bonus figures only after reading them on the casino's own terms page. Check the current offer and its significant terms on the casino's site before you sign up.
Not yet verifiedProcessed within 24 hours, may vary at weekends; £5 min (Betway)Debit cards, PayPal, e-wallets, open banking Scoring after terms check Visit Betway

18+. T&Cs apply.

9 Mr Vegas logoMr VegasVideoslots Limited Acct 39380
039380-R-319311-036
Active, checked 29 Sep 2026
Offer not yet verified
We show bonus figures only after reading them on the casino's own terms page. Check the current offer and its significant terms on the casino's site before you sign up.
Not yet verifiedNot yet verifiedNot yet verified Scoring after terms check Visit Mr Vegas

18+. T&Cs apply.

10 William Hill Vegas logoWilliam Hill VegasWHG (International) Limited Acct 39225
039225-R-319373-015
Active, checked 29 Sep 2026
Offer not yet verified
We show bonus figures only after reading them on the casino's own terms page. Check the current offer and its significant terms on the casino's site before you sign up.
Not yet verifiedNot yet verifiedNot yet verified Scoring after terms check Visit William Hill

18+. T&Cs apply.

Order: casinos whose welcome offer we have read on their own site come first; the rest follow. Offers and banking facts were read from each operator's UK site on the date shown. Licence numbers link to each operator's entry on the Gambling Commission public register.

Mobile wallets are better covered. On their own sites, checked 29 September 2026: Unibet and PlayOJO show Apple Pay and Google Pay, Sky Casino shows Apple Pay and Google Pay logos, LeoVegas lists Apple Pay, and bet365 lists Apple Pay. Mr Vegas and William Hill Vegas are not yet verified. We will add phone bill details only after reading a casino’s own payments page that names them. Casumo is not listed because its casino remote licence shows as Surrendered on the register.

How do you check a pay by mobile charge on your bill?

Look at your itemised bill. Ofcom says phone payments may be listed as Charge-to-mobile, Operator Billing, Direct Carrier Billing or Google Play, which are payment mechanisms, not the name of the business. Short codes of five or six digits starting 5, 6, 7 or 8 can also appear. Your network can tell you who charged you.

Ofcom’s advice on reading your bill:

What you see What it means What to do
Charge-to-mobile, Operator Billing, Direct Carrier Billing A payment mechanism, not the company name Ask your network which company made the charge
A five or six digit short code starting 5, 6, 7 or 8 A mobile text short code linked to a service Check texts from that number for the provider’s contact details
A number instead of a name The provider is not named on the bill Your network can give you the provider’s name and contact
A charge you do not recognise Possible unwanted or mistaken charge Contact the provider first, then your network if unresolved

Ofcom also points out that blocking a text number does not stop premium rate charges. It only stops you receiving information about them. To stop a service that texts you, Ofcom says you can text “STOP ALL” to the number given in the message.

What if you are charged without agreeing?

Ofcom’s rules say you should not be charged for any premium rate service without your consent, and that the cost and how the service works must be clear. Contact the company that charged you first. If that does not resolve it, speak to your mobile network, and you can report the service to Ofcom.

For a casino deposit, the company that charged you is usually the casino or its payment provider. Contact the casino’s support team with the date, amount and receipt text. If you are unhappy with the result, follow the casino’s complaints process. Ofcom says it does not resolve individual complaints but you can report a premium rate service on 0300 123 3333 or 020 7981 3040, and Citizens Advice offers free advice.

How can you control or block phone bill gambling?

Set a deposit limit in your casino account before your first deposit, check your bill every month, and use pay-as-you-go credit if you want a hard ceiling. Ofcom says some mobile networks can block premium rate services on your account, which stops phone bill gambling deposits entirely along with other phone-paid purchases.

Useful controls, from lightest to strongest:

  • Casino deposit limits. Look for deposit limit tools in your casino account settings and set one before you play.
  • Pay-as-you-go only. You cannot spend more than the credit you have loaded.
  • Network block. Ask your network whether it can block premium rate services. Ofcom notes this may also block in-app purchases, TV voting and charity texts.
  • Bank gambling block. Many UK banks let you block gambling payments on your debit card. It will not stop phone bill charges, so pair it with a network block.
  • GAMSTOP. Free self-exclusion from GB-licensed online gambling sites and apps at gamstop.co.uk.
Ways to control pay by mobile casino spending
Limits, pay-as-you-go, network blocks and GAMSTOP all help keep phone bill deposits in check.

How does pay by mobile compare with other deposit methods?

Pay by mobile is the simplest to use on a phone, but it is typically deposit only. Debit cards and instant bank transfer work both ways and qualify for more offers. E-wallets such as PayPal sit in between. Prepaid vouchers such as paysafecard also keep card details off the site. None of these is a credit card, which is banned.

A quick comparison of how each method type generally works, not what any named casino offers:

  • Debit card: deposit and withdraw; widely listed as a qualifying method for offers.
  • Instant bank transfer (open banking): deposit from your bank app; see our Trustly casinos guide.
  • E-wallet: see our PayPal casinos guide. The UKGC says casinos should check e-wallet money was not loaded from a credit card.
  • Prepaid voucher: see our paysafecard casinos guide.

For the full picture of UK payment options, start at our payment methods hub, or compare licensed casinos on our best online casinos page.

What should you check before your first pay by mobile deposit?

Confirm the casino is on the UKGC register, that its cashier lists a mobile option, the limits and any fee, whether the deposit counts for an offer, and which method you will use to withdraw. Then set a deposit limit. Doing these five checks first avoids nearly every common problem with phone bill deposits.

  1. Licence: find the casino on the UKGC public register.
  2. Method: see pay by mobile listed in the cashier, not just in an advert.
  3. Limits and fees: read the payments page.
  4. Offer terms: check whether mobile deposits qualify.
  5. Withdrawal route: add and verify a bank account or debit card in advance.

Play safe

Gambling is for adults aged 18 and over. Only deposit what you can afford to lose, and remember a phone bill is still real money. If gambling stops feeling like fun, visit our safer gambling page or call the free National Gambling Helpline on 0808 8020 133, open 24/7. BeGambleAware and GAMSTOP also offer free support and self-exclusion.

Your questions, answered

What is a pay by mobile casino?

It is a UKGC-licensed casino that lets you charge a deposit to your mobile phone bill or take it from pay-as-you-go credit. You confirm by text, and the amount appears on your bill. Check the casino's cashier to see whether it offers the option.

Is paying by phone bill allowed for gambling in the UK?

Yes, where the casino offers it. Ofcom says premium rate services can be used to gamble online and via a mobile phone, only by people over 18, with the cost made clear. Gambling Commission rules also apply on top of Ofcom's.

Can I withdraw casino winnings to my phone bill?

You should not expect to. Ofcom describes phone payments as charges added to a bill or taken from credit. Plan to withdraw with another method, such as a bank account or debit card, and verify it before you need it.

How will a casino deposit show on my phone bill?

Ofcom says charges may be listed as Charge-to-mobile, Operator Billing or Direct Carrier Billing, which are payment mechanisms, not company names. You may also see a short code or number. Your mobile network can tell you who charged you.

Do pay by mobile deposits count for welcome offers?

Only if the offer terms say so. Unibet's offer, checked 29 September 2026, qualifies with debit card or instant bank transfer only, so a phone bill deposit would not count there. For other casinos, read the offer's own terms before depositing.

How do I stop phone bill gambling charges?

Set a deposit limit in your casino account, use pay-as-you-go credit, and ask your network whether it can block premium rate services, which Ofcom says some can. GAMSTOP offers free self-exclusion from GB-licensed online gambling sites and apps.

Where our facts come from

  1. Quick guide to premium rate services (Ofcom), checked Sep 29, 2026
  2. Top tips to stay in control of your phone charges (Ofcom), checked Sep 29, 2026
  3. Stopping premium rate charges (Ofcom), checked Sep 29, 2026
  4. Boku, checked Sep 29, 2026
  5. Gambling on credit cards to be banned from April 2020 (UKGC), checked Sep 29, 2026
  6. Gambling using a credit card (UKGC), checked Sep 29, 2026
  7. I can't withdraw my winnings (UKGC), checked Sep 29, 2026
  8. Age, ID and financial verification (UKGC), checked Sep 29, 2026
  9. Gambling promotions to be safer and simpler (UKGC), checked Sep 29, 2026
  10. UKGC public register, checked Sep 29, 2026
  11. Unibet promotions, checked Sep 29, 2026
  12. Block gambling payments with your bank (UKGC), checked Sep 29, 2026
  13. GamCare and the National Gambling Helpline, checked Sep 29, 2026
  14. PlayOJO banking, checked Sep 29, 2026
  15. LeoVegas payment methods, checked Sep 29, 2026
  16. bet365 deposit methods, checked Sep 29, 2026
  17. Sky Casino, checked Sep 29, 2026
  18. BeGambleAware, checked Sep 29, 2026
  19. GAMSTOP, checked Sep 29, 2026
  20. Gambling and young people (UKGC), checked Sep 29, 2026

Related guides

Gamble safely

Online gambling in Great Britain is for adults aged 18 and over. Set a deposit limit before you play, and stop if it stops being fun. Our safer gambling guide.

GamCareNational Gambling Helpline 0808 8020 133, free and confidential, 24 hours a day. gamcare.org.uk
GAMSTOPFree self-exclusion from every online gambling site licensed in Great Britain. gamstop.co.uk
BeGambleAwareFree advice, tools and support for anyone worried about their gambling or someone else's. begambleaware.org